Hindus Massacre Hundreds of Christians

21 10 2008

Dear beloved sponsors and friends of Good News India…We have never seen anything like this.   We knew that Orissa was the most resistant and hostile State in India as far as the Gospel is concerned. And we brushed off the continuous threats and harassment we faced as we went about His work.   But none of our staff imagined that they would see this kind of carnage… And it seems to be totally under the radar of the  Western Media ….

Let me explain…. A militant Hindu priest and 4 of his attendants, who were zealously going around the villages of Orissa and “reconverting” people back to Hinduism, were gunned down by unknown assailants in Central Orissa  last weekend.  Immediately the Christians were blamed. The cry rose up…”Kill the Christians!” And the horror began…. In the past 4 days, we have first hand witness to hundreds of churches being blown up or burned and many, many dozens of Christian tribals have been slaughtered. For no other reason than they bear the name of Christ.

Night and day I have been in  touch with our Good News  India Directors spread across 14 Dream Centers in Orissa… they are right in the middle of all this chaos.In Tihidi, just after the police came to offer protection, a group of 70 blood-thirsty militants came to kill our staff and destroy the home. They were not allowed to get in, but they did a lot of damage to our Dream Center  by throwing rocks and bricks and smashing our gate, etc. They have promised to come back and “finish the job.” Our kids and staff are locked inside and have stayed that way with doors and windows shut for the past 3 days. It has been a time of desperately calling on the Lord in prayer.

More police have come to offer protection.  In Kalahandi, the police and some local sympathizers got to our dream center and gave our staff and kids about 3 minutes notice to vacate. No one had time to even  grab a change of clothes or any personal belonging. As they fled, the blood thirsty mob came to kill everyone in the building. We would have had a mass funeral there, but for His grace.  In Phulbani, the mob came looking for Christian homes and missions. The local Hindu people, our neighbors turned them away by saying that there were no Christians  in this area. So they left. We had favor. The same thing happened in Balasore.

All our dream centers are under lock down with the kids and staff huddled inside and  police outside. The fanatics are circling outside waiting for a chance  to kill. Others were not so fortunate. In a nearby Catholic orphanage,  the mob allowed the kids to leave and locked up a Priest and a  computer teacher in house and burned them to death. Many believers  have been killed and hacked into pieces and left on the road…. even  women and children.  At another orphanage run by another organization,  when this began, the Director and his wife jumped on their motorbike and simply fled, leaving all the children and staff behind. Every one  of our GNI directors that I have spoken to said: “We stay with our  kids…. we live together or die together, but we will never abandon  what God has called us to do.” More than 5000 Christian families have  had their homes burned or destroyed. They have fled into the jungles  and are living in great fear waiting for the authorities to bring  about peace. But so far, no peace is foreseen. This will continue for another 10 days…. supposedly the 14 day  mourning period for the slain Hindu priest. Many more Christians will  die and their houses destroyed. Many more churches will be smashed  down. The Federal government is trying to restore order and perhaps things will calm down. We ask for your prayers. Only the Hand of God  can calm this storm. None of us know the meaning of persecution. But  now our kids and staff know what that means. So many of our kids  coming from Hindu backgrounds are confused and totally bewildered at  what is happening around them. So many of their guardians have fled  into the jungles and are unable to come and get them during these trying times.

Through all this, I am more determined than ever to continue with our  goal: the transformation of a community by transforming its children.  Orissa will be saved… that is our heart’s cry. If we can take these  thousands of throw-away children and help them to become disciples of  Jesus, they will transform an entire region. It is a long term goal,  but it is strategic thinking in terms of the Great Commission.

What  can you do? First, please uphold all this in fervent prayer. Second,  pass this e-mail on to as many friends as you can. We must get the word out and increase our prayer base for this is spiritual warfare at  its most basic meaning. We are literally fighting the devil in order  to live for His Kingdom. The next 10 days are crucial. We pray for peace and calm to pervade across Orissa.

Thank you for taking the time to read this. Please pass it on and help  us to get as many people to partner with us on this cutting edge  effort to fulfill His mandate: Go and make disciples of all nations…. Prayer works!     Blessings,    Chip & Sandy Wanner    Col 2:2 MBI   /  Team Facilitators to YWAM frontlines

Actions

Information

12 responses

21 10 2008
sospokesaroj

Hi, I wrote a piece myself regarding this very situation. I’m actually Hindu, but I find the events that are going on absolutely unforgivable. Check out my blog and let me know what you think.

Let’s pray this will all pass and peace will be restored.

21 10 2008
Dagadu

Hi
The situation what you have brought is for sure of concern, but the tone and tagging some religion unfortunately is unasked. Imagine some one tagging the whole of christianity as militant and sorry to say, the pope as its militant leader. will that make sense ? . You seem to be student of theology, wouldnt it be nice that u truly try understand the peace loving religion of christianity, which i am damn sure does nowhere teach to tag / insult others. Correct me if i am wrong.

See me siting beside you praying for peace of humans in Orissa

21 10 2008
Andrew

sospokesaroj: Thanks for commenting on my aritcle. I left a comment on the aritlce that you wrote. It was very interesting.

21 10 2008
Andrew

Dagadu: I think you misunderstood what I was saying. I’m not at all calling all Hindus violent mass murderers. I know that 90-95% of Hindus are very peaceable people and it goes against their faith to be violent.

The story that I put on my blog is only pointing out a small group of Hindus in Orissa who are being very radical. Their purpose isn’t to convert, but rather their violence is an act of hatred because they think that Christians are responsible for the recent deaths of a Hindu priest and his four partners.

So, let me again say that I am not tagging/insulting all of Hinduism as a violent murderous group. I am merely relaying the facts of a small militant faction in the state of Orissa which is going around and killing many Christians right now.

I hope that explains things better. I’m sorry if there was any confusion. Please send me an email sometime (you can find my email address on my “Contact Me” page), I’d love to talk with you. I think I have some information that you’d find very interesting.

22 10 2008
Colleen

Hi Andrew. Many of us are passing along this information via e-mail so that prayers will go up around the world.

23 10 2008
nobody416

Wow, this is so sad and I will be spending much time in prayer over the next few days for this. God has put a passion in my heart for India for a long time. I am praying people will come to Christ because of this. I wonder if my Christian Indian friend knows about this yet. I will be posting this on my blog.

29 10 2008
Concerned

I want to begin by saying that this is absolutely shocking. Any kind of violence, and particularly the religious kind, is reprehensible. My thoughts go out to the families and friends of all those murdered.

However, as a side note, which may well end up causing this post to be removed, I also don’t agree with evangelism by any religion. It’s not an election where one party tries to get more votes than another. And to go on missions, particularly to places that have traditionally featured large concentrations of other religions, trying to convert folks is disrespectful to their current religion and somewhat arrogant of those trying to get them to convert.

Just my $0.02, which you may, of course, choose to ignore, remove, rebut, or otherwise disagree with.

Concerned

1 11 2008
Holly Dieterlen

I would suggest watching the movie “The End of the Spear.” It is certainly not “disrespectful” to offer individuals an alternative. Christians do not convert by force but by their words and actions. It is not arrogance but sacrificial love that drives evangelism.

1 11 2008
Andrew

Concerned: I agree, I don’t like religious fanatics, and not all people who take the name of a particular religion have the same thoughts or do the same things.

However, I still believe wholeheartedly in evangelism for the soul reason that the Christianity that I’m a part of isn’t about promoting religious ideas, it’s about sincerely reaching out to others to tell them something of greatest importance.

Here’s the reality that we live in, we’re all sinneres (we’ve all done bad things). I believe that there is a creator whom we call God. Just like in our judicial system, when we do wrong, there are consequences. God’s consequences for our sin is eternity in hell as opposed to eternity in heaven with a perfectly loving God.

It’s like if someone’s house was on fire in the middle of the night, you’d do all you could to warn the people sleeping inside to get out. The same can be said of Christianity. We see a world of people who are sleeping, unaware of the danger to come and we can only feel compelled by compassion to warn them of current status and point them to their only way of salvation, Jesus Christ.

I don’t know if that helps you understand better where we’re coming from on this. I don’t believe the Hindu religion is right, and I especially don’t condone religious fanaticism. I’d be glad to clarify this more if want. You can just shoot me an email or even call me on my cell. Thanks for your comment, though, it holds a lot of truth.

13 11 2008
Mark

Chip, I heard about this from a South African, living in Bosnia who forwarded it from an American Official living in Seattle. Please now that people are praying for you!

16 11 2008
Mr. Borg

Hey,

Since all your brainwashed fools think you are going to heaven for eternity, what’s the problem? Death is just the start of eternal life, right? Quite bitchin’ Christians have killed (and continue to kill) more people around the world than ALL cults and religions combined.

Remember: “Two hands working can do more than a thousand clasped in prayer.”

Get busy your whiners!

13 12 2008
mark

Why publish this with false comments. It is spreading like wildfire with YWAM context? Their website disassociates with this email. I truly wish people could pray for the ones that really need it.




