Session 7 – Paul Tripp

28 09 2008

Your words have direction.  Your words are never neutral.

If all you do is run to the obvious communication passages in Scripture, you miss out on all the Bible has to say about the communication of our speech.

Word problems are heart problems.
You can never plant one thing and produce something else.
My greatest communication problem is me.  They all exist inside of me, not outside of me.
When you can admit this, you are heading in the direction of a fundamental change.
Jesus came so that those who live will no longer live for themselves. (2 Cor. 5:15)
Sin causes me to love me 8more than anything else.
Paul contrasts two lifestyles.
The life that is driven by desires.
The life that strives to serve the kingdom of God.
Our law is derived by a single law – love you neighbor as yourself.
The kingdom is a boundless place of redeeming love.
Love is initiated, motivated, and propelled by gratitude.
You don’t define love by a set of abstract concepts.   We define love by how it is shaped in the cross of Christ.
Love is willing self-sacrifice for the good of another that doesn’t demand reciprocation or the person being loved is deserving.
Ultimately we find deliverance.
Our redeemer will not rest until every microbe of sin is destroyed and we will praise him.

Concluding Thoughts

I actually enjoyed Paul Tripp’s topic on guarding the heart which produces the words that we speak.  His whole premise is that our heart is selfish and that comes out in our speech.  I also want to point out that Paul is the brother of Ted Tripp, the author of Shepherding a Child’s Heart.  I actually made that mistake and was corrected by my friends.  Both have a likeable speaking style and they have some great insight.  Paul actually has a bit more humor in his speaking than his brother, Ted.

2008 Desiring God National Conference

Actions

Information




