The Proverbs 31 Woman

16 09 2008

My professor has a high standard of punctuality and a great philosophy on learning.  Today we’re going through the book of Proverbs.

There was a laugh in the class when Dr. Farmer talked about Mother’s Day in church when the preacher uses the Proverbs 31 text and makes all the mothers feel guilty and then says “Happy Mother’s Day!”

Dr. Farmer says he thinks the text is being misused.  He encourages us as young men with the fact that the Proverbs 31 wife isn’t something we can expect to find here at school because the girls here are not matured like the one in the passage. Instead, how our wife turns out is heavily dependent on what we are as husbands.  It is our responsibility to be the leader and help them grow into the Proverbs 31 wife.

So how are we to look for a wife without these signs?  Dr. Farmer says that we need to be looking for a woman who fears the Lord above all else because the fear of the Lord is beginning of not only wisdom but everything.
I think that’s a great point for us as singles to remember as we look for that special someone.  Its also a challenge for you married men, that you be the leader for your wife because how you lead determines who she’ll be.

Actions

Information

2 responses

16 09 2008
Bernadette

Hi Andrew,
I enjoyed reading this comment of yours reguarding the topic of Proverbs 31 women. The most interesting part to me was near the tail end, where you tell of how a husband leads, that is how the wife turns out. I find it frusterating when it comes to this modern day dating world. I try my best to treat other single men as they were my brother in Christ, but for the most part, when talking to single men, they persue in a way that seems cheap and in the here and now. I know people may feel pressured to act a certain way or maybe this generation is afraid to be pure and different? Ha What ever it is, I pray that single men could treat single women with gentleness and respect. Also, I pray that single women behave and dress in a modest way so that they will encourage courting excellence.

16 09 2008
Andrew

Thanks Bernadette, I thought it was good insight too. I’ve never heard it from that perspective, and I really liked it.

I think it’s important too what you said about how single men ought to treat ladies. It’s something that I think many men are lacking.




