Don’t Waste Your Summer: Blog (More)

15 07 2008

I’ve been blogging for 3yr now which seems like a long time to be writing. I wasn’t very consistent at all when I first started up until this year which you can read more about. I’ve come to see blogging in a whole new light which motivates me to write.

Think about it this way, a pastor preaches 3 times a week usually, and he reaches a select group of people. Now maybe his sermon is recorded, and maybe it’s even put on Sermon Audio, but that’s not the norm. Most sermons preached are heard once and almost never listened to again. Unlike a blog, where I write something, and I have people reading it for months, even years which amounts to far more people than we have in my church.

Do you see what I’m saying? The amount of people that can be reached through blogging is huge, and the impact of what our words are making in their lives cannot be measured, but I’m sure people like something about what we write since we have a consistent amount of readers everyday. I’m not saying that a pastor’s job isn’t as effective as blogging, but I am saying that blogging adds a totally different dynamic than that of a pastor’s.

If you have a blog, I encourage you to write more on it. Writing is an excellent habit to get into, and blogging is such a powerful means of ministry. If you don’t have a blog, I would strongly suggest that you look into getting one. You don’t have to write super long posts, Abraham Piper sure doesn’t. You don’t have to be an expert or a deep intellectual. There’s all types of people out there who are interested in different styles and different content. I guarantee there’s a group out there who would love what you have to say.

This is the perfect time to start blogging or start doing it more often when you’ve got the freedom of summer to start a new routine. If you’re interested in starting to blog, my suggestion would be to look into Blogger or WordPress which are both free blogging sites that are simple to use. If you do end up starting a blog or you want to start blogging more, let me know about it in the comments section.

Don’t waste your summer!

Previous Posts:

Don’t Waste Your Summer: Read Books
Don’t Waste Your Summer: Speak Truth
Don’t Waste Your Summer: Do a Study
Don’t Waste Your Life: Get in a Bible Study
Don’t Waste Your Summer: Save
Don’t Waste Your Summer: Meet New People
Actions

Information

2 responses

28 07 2008
Don’t Waste Your Summer: Take Time to Smell the Roses « The Core

[…] Don’t waste your summer! Previous Posts: Don’t Waste Your Summer: Read Books Don’t Waste Your Summer: Speak Truth Don’t Waste Your Summer: Do a Study Don’t Waste Your Life: Get in a Bible Study Don’t Waste Your Summer: Save Don’t Waste Your Summer: Meet New People Don’t Waste Your Summer: Blog (more) […]

15 08 2008
BigBan

Oh, Thanks! Really amazing. keep working!




