Future-spection

10 06 2008

I was cleaning this house yesterday when this board on the wall caught my attention.  If you can’t read it it says,

“A hundred years from now it will not matter what my bank account was, the sort of house I lived in, or the kind of car I drove; but the world may be different because I was important in the life of a child.”

It made me think about how we can get so caught up with the temporal things and we neglect the people around us.  What can a bank account do after you’re gone?  Not much except maybe give the money to someone in your will and then it’s just another person who has some money.

But if we invest in the life of another person (specifically a child), how we impact them could set in motion a series of changes that could go on long after we’re gone.  Another blogger to take our space on the internet or a preacher who will fill the pulpit that we’ll one day no longer be able to fill.

We have just as much responsibility with what we do now, as with what will happen in the future with what we’ve done when we’re no longer here.

Advertisement:
A teenage rebellion against low expectations.
Actions

Information




