The Danger of Zeal

9 05 2008

zealI’ve been very introspective this week, and there have been a number of revealing areas that I’ve seen in my life. One was pointed out to me by a friend earlier this week. I had been advertising the Na Conference for the past few weeks, and my friend just wanted to ask me a few questions about where I was at.

He wanted to caution me against falling into the trap of sensationalizing these events like Na and T4G, and people like John Piper, John MacArthur, and CJ Mahaney; but then not living out what they teach. As I thought about it, I realized that this actually applies to Christians across the board.

You finish reading a chapter from John Piper’s book “Don’t Waste Your Life,” and you’re all excited about making changes in your life; but you’ll figure out how to make those changes after you watch your favorite TV series that’s just starting. Or maybe you went to the T4G conference and you come back all pumped about becoming unified as a body of believers for the sake of the Gospel, but as soon as you get around your local body, you look down on those who haven’t learned that lesson.

Its so easy to become zealous about a person, an event, or a teaching; but we often equate that zealousness with spiritual growth. When really, nothings changed except we’ve gotten more knowledge which has puffed us up.

Let us be careful not only to be excited about good things, but to make heart applications of them.

Actions

Information




