Missions Conference – Day 3

10 04 2008

Today was a very long day, and probably my busiest day of this week. I honestly don’t have much to say from the conference itself because I was running around so much, I wasn’t able to take in anything.

There were two lessons I learned, though, threw all the running around. One was one of those hard life lessons. I was in the evening service, and an issue came up that I had to deal with.  As I dealt with the situation, I was in the back and made a bit of a scene.  When I left the room to continue handling the issue, I was confronted by a faculty member as to how I handled the situation.

Something I’ve learned from similar encounters is how to respond to such strong confrontation.  I didn’t do anything horrible, but it there was a lack of judgment on my part, and I graciously acknowledged that.  I’ve found that when you can be confident and not shrink away when confronted with someone, and be able to sincerely admit your fault and apologize, people really respect that.  It’s when you shrink away and make it appear like you deserve every bit of that criticism, or when you aren’t sincere about your apology that the person confronting you will be less likely to accept your apology.  That’s just a thought.

I also was thinking about something that happened later that night.  I was responsible for a food fellowship that was taking place after the service, and there were a number of people under me that I was in charge of.  Well, my team was eating their food before the conference guests came, and the team needed to start changing into their serving outfits.  There was one such member who was still eating and I had to go over and ask him to please change first before he continued eating, and as I asked him, I took the plate from him and set it aside as I handed him his outfit.

Some would say that an action like that was harsh, and I considered my actions throughout the night, and came to the conclusion that it was done with the right heart attitude.  The Bible says to speak the truth in love, and I think that if done in the right way, a person will realize the spirit of the action.  There were a number of times that night that I had to speak in a firm manner, but each time it was received with no antagonism.

I’m just under the impression that we don’t need to fear man’s perception of us if we need to be firm with people.  I’ve found that with humility and love you can still handle a matter in a very firm manner.

Actions

Information




