Cruise to Mexico

13 01 2008

For those of you who didn’t know, I was on a cruise to Mexico this past week, and just got home this weekend. It was my family and I, and we went with Carnival Cruise lines. We started in New Orleans and went to Progresso and Cozumel.

The experience was great, and we had a really good time. The first day was crazy because not only had we not yet gotten our sea legs, but we’re also going down the Mississippi River and making sharp turns in this big ship. So everyone is staggering in 5ft intervals and we all look drunk; and the funny thing was, I felt drunk too because my head just wouldn’t stop spinning.

One of the highlights of the cruise was all the food; there was a never-ending supply food. For dinner it was fine dining and you could have them bring out as many servings of food as you wanted. Our server was so funny because there were times when he asked me how my food was and if I even said that it was “ok”, he would take my plate and either bring me another plate of the same thing or something completely different without even asking me. Or there were times when I’d be ordering and he’d say “that’s no good, order something else”, so those kind of things were always funny. There was also the buffet and midnight pizza and sandwhich bar, and 24/7 ice cream. Needless to say, I was never hungry the whole week.

In Progresso, we took a tour to see the Myan ruins which were amazing. They were one of the seven wonders of the world. I also liked Progresso because it reminded me a lot of Venezuela. In Progresso, there were a ton of street vendors and I got to brush up on my Spanish as I would bargin with them for different items. They would sell things so cheap there.

In Cozumel, it was very much more modern and americanized. There weren’t any street vendors and everything was almost on the verge of too pricy. It was beautiful, though, and we got to buy things from stores and resturants that we hadn’t had in many years. We went snorkeling while in Progresso which was fun. The reefs had been destroyed by a hurricane from last year, but all the tropical fish were still there. We saw rainbow fish, different neon fish, sting ray, barracuda, and a baby shark. So that stop was a lot of fun too.

On the cruise itself, there wasn’t a whole lot to do. First of all, it’s a cheaper cruise line, and it’s also more geared for entertainment. Basically it was a Las Vegas on a ship. In comparison to Royal Carribean cruise lines, Royal Carribean has bowling alleys, movie theater, surf pool, and more; basically more activities. So since we’re not big into drinking, gambling, and not the best shows, we stuck to tanning, the whirlpool, sauna, and stuff like that.

It was a good cruise, though, and we had a blast. I have pictures and videos up on Facebook, and you can follow this link to see them.

Actions

Information




