Katrina Missions Trip – Day 1

3 11 2007

Well, here I am in Waveland, Mississippi. I’m on a missions trip with my Grandparents church based out of Germantown, WI. It’s been amazing so far, and I haven’t even done anything. I Thur. at 4pm and got here on Fri. at 1pm. I literally went from one side of the country to the other. For those of you who don’t know, I’m at Northland Bible College which is at the top of Wisconsin, and Waveland is right on the Gulf of Mexico.

The car ride was great, though. I got to drive with a friend of mine that I’ve known ever since I could remember. He’s been such a blessing so far, and it’s been great to talk to him about a lot of questions that I’ve had, and he’s the perfect guy to ask because of his unique life experiences that the majority of guys haven’t had. We talked almost the whole way, and the ride didn’t seem long at all.

So now I’m here at the Christian Life Center where we’ll be given some jobs to do for the next few days with helping reconstruct and repair homes. For those of you who thought that the relief work was done here, you’re wrong. People are settled now and things have been cleaned up, but there’s still demolished houses everywhere, businesses shut down, and there’s not a whole lot of people for the size of the city.

Tonight was a good time. There’s about three other teams here at the Center, but they’ll be leaving tomorrow. Tonight, though, I hung out with a group of Christian students from Princeton University, and we had a fire. We had a fun time just telling stories and making s’mores, but then we got more serious and started sharing testimonies and singing songs. It was just neat to be able to jump in with a group of people I didn’t know, and still be able to worship the same God because we’re all part of the family.

Well, I need to go. A group of the Princeton students and I are going running to the beach to watch the sun rise. I’ll be posting every day of the trip.

God bless.

Actions

Information




