Making Choices

17 07 2007

I’ve been reminded of grace lately. The verse came to mind about a righteous man who falls down and picks himself back up. I decided I was done with saying yes to my sin and sitting in my pool of guilt because I remembered that God’s grace was greater than all that. I decided that when I was confronted with a choice, I would choose things that are true, honorable, right, pure, lovely, of good repute, excellent, and worthy of praise (Phil. 4:8). I also decided that if and when I do fall down, I would get back up right away before I had time wallow in my guilt and try to satisfy that guilt with more wrong decisions. The great thing about our God is that we can sin and turn right around and our Father will take us back if we’re broken and sincere. There doesn’t need to be time for things to cool down after just blowing it. So what are we waiting for?

Our weaknesses determine which temptations are going to be harder than others. Though the pull to do wrong may be hard, the solution is very simple. It’s a matter of saying no and walking away from that temptation. If it’s as easy as saying no, why don’t we say it enough? It’s because we’re not dwelling enough on the things that Phil. 4:8 tells us to think about. If we would only be rejoicing and dwelling on good things, our immediate desire would not be to say yes to our flesh.

It’s time for all of us to shake ourselves out of complacency and take it up a step. Start off memorizing a few power verses, maybe just have Christian music continually playing to keep our focus right. Let’s seek to move into a whole new level of intimacy with our Father, and experience joy that surpasses all explanation and understanding!

Actions

Information




