Great Thanksgiving In MO

28 11 2006

Well I don’t know about the rest of you, but I had a wonderful Thanksgiving. It is my favorite holiday for reasons I can’t explain. This year we went to Mousouri to spend the holiday with my mom’s sister and our cousins.

We got there just in time to sit down for the meal, and something that still makes me smile is what we did before we ate. Both our families are pretty musical, and whenever we get together there’s always music involved. Well, before we prayed for our food we picked a song to sing (the Doxology), but in order to sing it we had to do it in parts. So we got our pitch, and just started singing. It sounded amazing, there were twelve of us. Then we had to do it all over again because my cousin who’s in Romania called, and wanted to sing and pray with us since she couldn’t be there. Finally we got to eat, and we had a feast. It was the best Thanksgiving meal I’ve had in a long time.

Afterward my cousin Kara (17) and I cleared off the table. It was really cool talking to her because I found out what a great heart she has for God, and how many things we actually have in common. With my cousin who was my age in Romania, I was finally able to get to know my younger cousin. She’s also developed her own personality and such because she’s no longer in the shadow of her older sister; so it was like getting to know someone for the first time, that’s how different she was. We had a lot more oppurtunities to talk more, and have some one-on-one time which was great; she is my newest addition to spiritual friends.

I’m thinking of taking a week off from all work during Christmas break to do some personal work. I got so much done even with the little time I was able to spend to myself, I can’t imagine what a whole week would be like. I got to work on the book that I’ve been writing (I’ll say more about that later sometime), I got to work on another song that I’m putting together which I actually did with my 13yr old cousin, Hailey (she writes poems which are really cool, I’ll post them here sometime as well).

Some fun things I’ll highlight were sleeping outside on the trampoline with three other guys while looking at the stars and hearing cayotes howling in the distance. I caught a red ribbon snake which is like a garter snake, but it’s a little more colorful. I also went rock climbing with my brother and two guy cousins which was a blast. The rock gym was pretty big, and it has so many cool things. It was pretty sweet, we went at 10pm and stayed till 1am.

That pretty much wraps up my Thanksgiving holiday. It was a lot of fun, and there’s some things I’ll never forget.

Actions

Information




