Desires not given, not taken away.

6 11 2006

Sometimes I wonder why God does what He does.  I try to follow what He wants me to do, yet theres things/decisions that I give up or make (I’m talking about good things) because I know that’s the Lord’s will; but I’m left wanting that which I gave up.  Why doesn’t God take away those desires, and replace it with a wholehearted desire to do what He’s called me to do?  I have three theories, but there’s possibly more which I haven’t spent the time to think of.

First, it might be possible that it is a testing of my contentment to see if I truly am willing to happily do what God has called me to do, or if I’ll do it with a complaining attitude, or don’t pursue it with my whole heart.

Second is that maybe it’s not God’s timing for things to happen, and I have to wait, but He’s left the desire there because some time later in life I am to fulfill that desire.  The only thing is, some of the decisions I’ve made, because I believe it to be God’s will, are such convictions to me that I could never foresee myself ever deviating from the path that has been set.

Thirdly, Ps. 37:4 says, “Delight thyself in the Lord, and He will give you the desires of your heart.”  Could it be that I am not delighting in God enough?  Not cultivating a strong enough relationship with Him?  Because if I were, one of two things would happen.  My desires would be granted because they would become God’s desires through drawing closer to him; or the desires I have are really God’s will, but subconsciously I do not want to do them and my relationship with God is not strong enough to see that.

I wish I knew because right now I go through some very sad days.  It’s hard doing what you believe is right, but trying to decipher which voice you’re hearing, whether it’s your emotions or the Holy Spirit speaking.

Actions

Information




