Staff Training Week

4 06 2006

Well, I’ve gotten through my first week as a summer staff member at the Wilds. I was a little more than lost when I arrived at camp on Sunday because I was a day and a half late. Let’s just put it this way, if you’ve come to camp as a camper, it’s nothing like that. It took about half the week to get use to the feeling that I wasn’t a camper, and that I could do things that were big “no-nos” for a camper.

You could ask anyone here at camp and tell you that I’m not exagerating when I say that for the whole week, the first half of the day was spent sitting in sessions, and the second part of the days was more sitting as you learned how to do your individual job. You wouldn’t think that sitting would be so tiring, but I’ve come to the conclusion that this is probably going to be one of the most tiring weeks of the summer.

There some interesting things that happened that I’d like to highlight. One is that I made three saves during the counselor’s swim test; that was three out of six people that had to be saved that day (I just hope not every week will be that eventful). I’m going to have to learn how to give shots. I also made the auditions to play in the orchestra and small group vocals.

God’s really shown me His strenght through this past week. I’ve been very tired, and He has given me the energy I need to make it through. He’s also provided for some needs that came up while I was here. It’s encouraging to me because now I can look back on this week during the summer when I’m tired or in need and see how the Lord is faithful to His own.

May God be glorified,
Andrew

Actions

Information




