Reemerging

3 01 2010

It’s been eight months since I’ve posted anything on this blog.  I don’t have to tell you that a lot happens in that amount time.  So, I’m going to spare you the details right now (perhaps I’ll give some history in later posts), and instead let you know where I’m at in life currently.

I’m a college graduate as of two weeks ago.  It didn’t take as long as I thought for that reality to sink in.  So what am I doing now that I don’t have school?  Well…..a lot!  Now that I’m home for the long haul, my priority has been to organize my life for such permanence.  There’s a website called ZenHabits which has been very helpful in how to declutter and simplify your life in all areas (more on that in later posts).  When I say “organization” that’s probably an understatement, seeing as I’ve been organizing for at least a couple hours everyday for the past two weeks, and I still have a couple days to go.

What could possibly require that much organization?  Well, I’ve cataloged all my books with Delicious Library 2 (view my library).  Digitalized every piece of paper and photo I have in an effort to live a paperless life (not including my current books, but all future books will go on my Kindle).  Throwing out about 6 trash bags full of things I don’t need or use anymore.  Meticulously creating a filing system on my computer.  Going through my Gmail contacts list and editing and whittling it down from 700+ to 200+.  Going into my Google Reader and taking it from 86 feeds down to 11 feeds.  Deleting and adding applications on my Mac to declutter and increase productivity.  Right now my most used apps are Stickies (digital sticky notes), iGTD (advanced to-do list), MacJournal, iCal, and Address Book.

So is that all I’ve been doing since I’ve been home?  Nope!  I’m on staff at Calvary Community Church as a pastoral assistant.  I’ve been getting up to speed with everything going on in the church, and my greatest desire is to empower people to be better ministers of the gospel in church and the community.  How am I doing that?  Good question, I’m still figuring that out by learning about the needs and spiritual gifts we currently have in the church.

Also, I’ve been gone for three years, as a result, I don’t know a lot of people in Knoxville.  So, I’m taking every opportunity I can to meet new people, build relationships, and have some sort of network (personal and business).

Is that it? Not even close, but I’m going to stop there and go more into detail in later posts.

Actions

Information

One response

7 08 2010
toko online

yup….

i support you to digitalized all of paper piece for our environment




Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

